top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

3 NEW WAYS TO EAT HUMMUS

I really like the idea of hummus. It’s easy to make, goes great with veggies or crackers, is a bit exotic, and is packed with protein. But the thing is, I don’t actually like it.

Despite my efforts, I can’t get over the fact that it’s just mashed garbanzo beans — and I hategarbanzo beans. They may sound all cute when called “chickpeas,” but they’re not fooling this girl. In fact, I really dislike pretty much any and all legumes. It’s the texture, not necessarily the taste (though there’s not much to love in the taste department, either).

Since switching to a mostly plant-based diet, I make the sacrifice for the sake of protein. I’ve tried several variations of the basic chickpeas-olive oil-garlic-cumin-lemon juice recipe, which are fine but not fabulous for me.

But that all changed when I stumbled onto some alternative hummus recipes that I am shocked to say I not only love, but crave. Like, can’t-stop-thinking-about-it, gotta-get-to-the-store-NOW-to-buy-more-chickpeas kind of crave. I even made up a new recipe myself, which is officially my favorite hummus ever. And now I’d like to share these gems with you.

SWEET PEA HUMMUS FROM THE FULL HELPING

First, the recipe that started it all: Sweet pea hummus from Gena at The Full Helping. I modified this recipe a bit to make it even more of a meal by increasing the peas to 2 cups and, instead of blending it to a creamy dip, I leave it chunky. I also like it with a tablespoon or two of chia seeds for extra texture and protein. I love having this handy for a snack when I’m dragging, but it also makes a great quick breakfast or lunch on top of toast. Get the recipe here.

 

RAW ZUCCHINI HUMMUS FROM KRISCARR.COM

This next recipe was totally a winner for me because it doesn’t include garbanzo beans at all: Raw zucchini hummus from KrisCarr.com. When I make this next time I’ll decrease the lemon a bit, but otherwise I found this to be delectable — light, fresh, and tangy.

 

RECIPE: JUST-LIKE-GUACAMOLE HUMMUS

This is a recipe I created myself, inspired by The Full Helping’s cilantro-lovers hummus. The texture combined with the zip of the fresh cilantro in Gena’s recipe reminded me of guacamole, so I decided to change it up and go all-out with the flavors. And WOW. It was amazing, if I say so myself. It tastes EXACTLY like guacamole, and I am a connoisseur. I would eat fresh guac every day if I could, and avocado on everything, but truckloads of avocados aren’t in the budget.

That’s what gives this hummus the edge: Garbanzo beans are cheaper than avocados. Plus, you get all the flavors but more protein, and this dip will keep in the fridge without going brown. Win!

Now the only problem is what to call it. Avocado-less guacamole? Garbanzo-guac? Guaca-banzo? Whatever you choose to call it, enjoy it with tortilla chips or as a topping for tacos, tostadas, or burritos.

To make, add the following ingredients to a high-powered blender or food processor, adding more or less water as needed.

  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas or 1 can garbanzo beans, drained

  • Juice from one lime

  • 1 tsp cumin

  • 1/2 tsp onion powder

  • 1/2 tsp salt

  • 1/2 c – 1 c fresh cilantro (depending on preference)

  • 1 clove garlic, minced

  • 6 Tbs water

Enjoy!

Comments


bottom of page